The profits from Circle City Classic® help support scholarships, awarding nearly $5 million in scholarships to deserving youth attending colleges and universities across the country. Join us for what will surely be an incredible event celebrating HBCUs and the Divine 9 sororities and fraternities.

The Work of Rev. Charles Williams

Rev. Charles Williams was the President of Indiana Black Expo, Inc. (IBE) from 1983 to 2004. He was responsible for the restructuring of IBE, including the total reduction of a $106,000 deficit, the gross revenues of the organization doubling, organizing and securing funding for full-time staff, development of year-round programs that promote harmony among people of all races, and instrumental in the IBE Summer Celebration being named one of the “Top 100 Events in North America” by the American Business Association. 

As a man who was committed to serving his community, Rev. Williams received many awards, most notable being: the Indiana Jefferson Award, Indianapolis Education Association’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award, the state of Indiana’s most prestigious award, The Sagamore of the Wabash, Outstanding Past and Future Leadership Award presented by Senator Dan Quayle, Outstanding Citizen Award presented by the NAACP’s Life Membership Committee, Meritorious Service Award, Boys Club Association of Indianapolis, Wheeler Boys Club, Toastmaster International Award, Distinguished Service Award presented by the National Newspaper Publishers Association, Presidential Citation presented by the National Business League, Good Scout Award presented by Jack “The Rapper” and an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letter by Martin University in 1997. The culmination came in 2001 when he received a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies from Martin University.

Rev. Charles Williams was a vital asset to the state of Indiana and African Americans nationwide. Until his death in July 2004, he served as an effective voice and leader in the fight for social and economic advancement of African Americans.

More About Indiana Black Expo

Past Circle City Classic Games

Year Team (Head Coach) Score Year Team (Head Coach) Score
1984 Mississippi Valley State (Archie Cooley) 48 2003 Florida A&M (William Joe Jackson) 28
Grambling State (Eddle Robinson) 36 Jackson State (James Bell) 14
1985 Mississippi Valley State (Archie Cooley) 28 2004 South Carolina State (Oliver Pough) 30
Tennessee State (Bill Thomas) 13 Tennessee State (James Reese) 13
1986 Central State (William “Billy” Joe) 41 2005 North Carolina A&T (George Small) 16
Florida A&M (Ken Riley) 3 Tennessee State (James Reese) 3
1987 Central State (William “Billy” Joe) 31 2006 Hampton (Joseph Taylor ) 3
Tennessee State (Bill Thomas) 28 Central State (Al West) 42
1988 Florida A&M (Ken Riley) 10 2007 Florida A&M (Rubin Carter) 23
Jackson State (W.C. Gorden) 10 Winston-Salem State (Kermit Blount) 27
1989 Jackson State (W.C. Gorden) 27 2008 Tuskegee (Willie Slater) 34
Bethune -Cookman (Larry little) 7 Alabama A&M (Anthony Jones) 24
1990 Grambling State (Eddie Robinson) 27 2009 Alabama A&M (Anthony Jones) 35
Alabama A&M (George Pugh) 20 Tuskegee (Willie Slater 15
1991 Alcorn State (Howard Jones) 46 2010 North Carolina A&T (Alonze Lee, Sr.) 7
Howard (Steve Wilson) 27 Tennessee State (Rod Reed) 37
1992 Alabama State (Houston Markham) 13 2011 Kentucky State (Wayne Dickens) 31
Central State (William ” Billy” Joe) 34 Albany State (Mike White) 57
1993 South Carolina State (Willie Jeffries) 34 2012 North Carolina Central (Henry Frazier III) 40
Jackson State (James Carson) 33 South Carolina State (Oliver “Buddy” Pough) 10
1996 Florida A&M (William “Billy” Joe) 59 2013 Grambling State University (George Ragsdale) 0
Hampton (Joseph “Joe” Taylor) 58 Alcorn State University (Jay Hopson) 49
1997 Tennessee State (L.C. Cole) 37 2014 Kentucky State University (Josh Dean) 31
North Carolina A & T (William Hayes) 49 Central State University (Cedric Pearl) 24
1998 Howard (Steve Wilson) 32 2015 Kentucky State University (Josh Dean) 21
Bethune-Cookman (Alvin Wyatt) 25 Central State University (Cedric Pearl) 17
1999 Hampton (Joseph “Joe” Taylor) 6 2016 Kentucky State University (John L. Smith) 17
Southern (Pete Richardson) 21 Central State University (Cedric Pearl) 14
2000 Gram bling State (Douglas Williams) 12 2017 Central State University (Cedric Pearl)
Florida A&M (William “Billy” Joe) 10 Kentucky State University (John L. Smith) x
2001 Tennessee State (James Reese) 45 2018 Howard University (Mike London) 41
Howard (Steve Wilson) 0 Bethune-Cookman(Terry Sims) 35
2002 Southern (Pete Richardson) 11  2019 Kentucky State University (Charlie Jackson) 33
Alabama A&M (George Pugh) 27 Jackson State University (John Hendrick) 25